Melissa Green Selected Academic All-State

Melissa Green Selected Academic All-State
Posted on 02/28/2018

melissa green

Piedmont High School is proud to announce the selection of Melissa Green to the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence Academic All-State class of 2018. Melissa was chosen to represent Piedmont with this prestigious academic recognition.

According to The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence website, the 2018 Academic All-State class is comprised of 100 top public high school seniors, selected from 536 nominations statewide and hail from 82 schools in 74 Oklahoma school districts. The 2018 Academic All-State Class is the 32nd to be selected by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. Since the award programs inception in 1987, some 3,200 high school seniors from 319 school districts have been named All-State scholars. Each of the Academic All-State recipients receives a $1,000 merit-based scholarship and a medallion and will be recognized at the foundation's annual Academic Awards Banquet on May 19th, at the Embassy Suites Conference Center in Norman.

Participants must be Oklahoma public high school seniors and must be nominated by their principals or superintendents. To be nominated for Academic All-State, students must meet one of the following criteria: an American College Test (ACT) composite score of at least 30; a Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) combined critical reading and math score of at least 1340; or be selected as a semi-finalist for a National Merit, National Achievement (African American) or National Hispanic Scholarship.

Once nominated, recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, leadership experience, extracurricular activities and community involvement, as well as an essay submitted by each nominee.

, works independently of all other foundation activities. The committee members are a perse group of business, education AdwanThe selection committee, chaired by retired Tulsa attorney Teresa B. and civic leaders. Piedmont High School is proud to be represented by Melissa Green for this prestigious honor.

© 2004-2020 Intrafinity Corporation